RS Elite Events 2023

RS Elite Chichester Harbour Race Week

Date: 16 August 2023 - 18 August 2023
Club: Hayling Island Sailing Club

Club Contact:

Russel Peters, Zeb Elliott and Chris Feibusch sailing Shaken not Stirred have won the RS Elite class in Chichester Harbour Race Week (held from August 16th to 19th) with Colin Smith, Anna Wells and Adam Curely in Soak Therapy second.

Soak Therapy won the first two races on day one to take the overnight lead, however Shaken not Stirred won three of the remaining four races on the next two days to gain an unassailable position at the head of the leaderboard. Third overall were Joe Llewellyn and crew in Aurora whose moved up form sixth overall after day two.

Chichester Harbour Race Week, originally known as Federation Week, has been a long standing and perennially popular dinghy regatta held inside Chichester Harbour. In recent years it has also taken an increasingly prominent place in the RS Elite calendar, with three days of racing on a dedicated racecourse in Hayling Bay. This year eighteen RS Elites completed six races under the impeccable race management of Rod Carr in winds ranging from 10 knots or less to 20-25 knots.

Day one saw a light southerly wind which went progressively westerly as the two races progressed. Once racing got under way following a postponement to allow the wind to settle.

Soak Therapy won both races with Shaken not Stirred scoring a second and a fourth place in second overall. In third overall at the end of day one were Damon Roberts and crew in Candida with one fourth and one third. In the light wind conditions the strong west going tide posed some challenges for the competitors. The first day proved to be the longest day on the water with light winds and adverse tide leading to a slow sail out to the racecourse and a slow sail back into the harbour.

Conditions on day two were very different with a mainly 18 knot easterly wind and a choppy sea. Russell Peters and crew in Shaken not Stirred found their form in these conditions and won both races. Soak Therapy slipped into second overall with a tenth and a second. With four races sailed there was a tie for third between Elliott Caldwell and crew in Eclipse and Peter Copsey and crew in The Doctor. In fifth were Ossie Stewart and crew in More T Vicar and in Sixth were Joe Lewellyn and crew in Aurora.

On the third day the wind had strengthened considerably after heavy overnight rain. After a postponement to allow the wind to moderate, all dinghy races were cancelled. However the RS Elites sailed two races in Haling Bay in a 20-25 knot easterly wind. In these conditions Shaken not Stirred secured her position at the head of the leaderboard with a fourth and a first place. Overall results saw Soak Therapy finish second with a seventh and a fourth. Aurora took third overall with The doctor fourth, Candida fifth and Eclipse sixth.

Conditions on the third day were challenging. Several competitors chose not to go out but those who did had an exhilarating sail. In one final irony, overall winner Shaken not Stirred was dismasted whilst sailing back into the harbour after racing.

s Sail No Name Helm Crew Club R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 Pts
1 20 Shaken not Stirred Russell Peters Zeb Elliott HISC 2 (4) 1 1 4 1 9
2 100 Soak Therapy Colin Smith Anna Wells & Adam Curley HISC 1 1 (10) 2 7 4 15
3 84 Aurora Joe Lwellyn Pippa Jubb & Georgie Smith HISC (9) 7 4 6 9 3 29
4 46 The Doctor Peter Copsey Debbie Jarvis & Bunny Warren HISC 8 6 6 5 5 (DNF) 30
5 113 Candida Damon Roberts Chris Allen & Martin Jones HISC 4 3 (16) 14 3 7 31
6 44 Eclipse Elliot Caldwell Steve Fisher & Mark Bowers HISC 3 11 8 3 6 (12) 31
7 76 Foudafafa Tim Peters Adrian Williams HISC 10 10 (13) 12 1 2 35
8 63 E'Tu Al Keck Charlie Sansom Bowmoor SC 5 5 5 (11) 10 10 35
9 66 Lazy Daisey Andrew Partington Gareth Edwards & Karen Partington HISC 7 8 (9) 8 8 5 36
10 61 Disco Inferno Matt Abbiss Craig Dymock & David Nighy HISC 16 (18) 2 9 2 9 38
11 65 Vagrant Toby Strauss Rob Cruickshank & Ken Comrie HISC (11) 2 11 10 11 8 42
12 67 More T Vicar Ossie Stewart Ian Jubb & Tom Stewart HISC 6 9 7 4 (DNC) DNC 45
13 15   Nick Peters Guy Mcbride & Helen Simmonds HISC 12 13 3 7 (DNC) DNC 54
14 89 Theo Steven Hammond Peter Collyer & James Wilkinson HISC (15) 14 15 13 12 6 60
15 69 Sapphire David Nicholls David Watson & Nik Williams HISC 13 15 12 (16) 13 11 64
16 55 Wombat Mark Holliday Nigel Tuttle & Jeremy White HISC 14 12 17 18 (DNC) DNC 80
17 101 Centurion Jonathan Henry Dan Belton & Mark Stokes HISC 17 16 14 15 (DNC) DNC 81
18 93   Simon Radford Andy Chapman & Emma Toman HISC 18 17 (DNC) 17 DNC DNC 90


Update cookies preferences